adxl335 acceleration sensor

i am trying to write a code for acceleration meter. i am reading the raw value from sensor in x,y and z direction and i want to combine all these information to get the single value of acceleration. i am new in programming i have written a code but not getting the right result. i am getting the negative and positive value at serial monitor and also the acceleration change really quickly what a small movement of sensor. can someone help me out with this.
Thanks in advance. Below i paste the code
Zahid

const int analogInPin1 = A0;
const int analogInPin2 = A1;
const int analogInPin3 = A2;
int last_Val = 0;
int new_Val = 0;

void setup() {
// initialize serial communications at 9600 bps:
Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop() {
// read the analog in value:

int _x = analogRead(analogInPin1);
int _y = analogRead(analogInPin2);
int _z = analogRead(analogInPin3);

float _Acc = sqrt(_x^2+_y^2+_z^2);

last_Val = new_Val;
new_Val = _Acc;
float diff = new_Val-last_Val;

Serial.println(diff);
delay(1000);
}

Please use code tags when posting code.

"^" is the operator for XOR (exclusive OR). Try multiply with float variables instead:

float x = analogRead(analogInPin1);
float y = analogRead(analogInPin2);
float z = analogRead(analogInPin3);
float Acc = sqrt(x*x + y*y + z*z);

You will also need to subtract the zero bias from the analog input readings in order to make any sense of the result.

I recommend to avoid using the underscore character in variable names.

jremington:
Please use code tags when posting code.

"^" is the operator for XOR (exclusive OR). Try multiply with float variables instead:

float x = analogRead(analogInPin1);

float y = analogRead(analogInPin2);
float z = analogRead(analogInPin3);
float Acc = sqrt(xx + yy + z*z);

You will also need to **subtract the zero bias** from the analog input readings in order to make any sense of the result.

I recommend to avoid using the underscore character in variable names.