AGC Help (Please)

Hi All,

I Need some input. I am working on a Visual EQ. I have a thread going here. ATTiny2313 Pin help - Programming Questions - Arduino Forum But I am now stuck. I am trying to incorporate a AGC circuit so the LEDs don't max out when the MP3 player is at high volume.

My plan is to split the Left and Right channels two ways. L/R to the AGC and L/R to a LM1036 amp with V/B/T control.

The Issue I am having is finding a AGC that will fit my needs. As I am still learning I not sure what AGC circuit would work best. I also have no clue how to test the output of my MP3 player so I will be able to figure out the best sustained Gain. I hope I am saying all this right.

Well I found this Mic Preamp with AGC, but as I intend to use and Audio Jack I am not sure if it will work. Any input will be welcome.

Thanks

The Issue I am having is finding a AGC that will fit my needs. As I am still learning I not sure what AGC circuit would work best. I also have no clue how to test the output of my MP3 player so I will be able to figure out the best sustained Gain. I hope I am saying all this right.
Well I found this Mic Preamp with AGC, but as I intend to use and Audio Jack I am not sure if it will work.

You have described very little about your needs, specifically what does the output of the AGC PREAMP drive? Headphones, another pre-amp/amp, etc. What I do know is, " I intend to use and Audio Jack" and this represents approximately a 32 Ohm impedance per channel. Line inputs/outputs are around 600 Ohm nominally. So your design/purchase will need to deal with this electrical characteristics.

Building a generic AGC is not too difficult, the Internet has examples... Such as:
http://www.wiringcircuit.com/audio/Automatic_Gain_Control_Pre_Amplifier_Circuit_Diagram_1528.html