Air Pressure Regulator for Clamping - PWM?

Hello All,

My project is to perform a simple clamping procedure using a pneumatic pressure regulator and air cylinder. I will be using a microcontroller (possibly Arduino Motor Shield) to control the pressure regulator, which takes a 0-10 V input. I wanted to be able to vary the voltage, though Arduino of course only relies on PWM.

I was thinking of buying the pressure regulator in the URL below (Part number 2859T3). I tried contacting the seller to see if the pressure regulator will work under PWM, but they were not sure. I'm not very experienced with pneumatic systems, so do you think it would be possible for the pressure regulator to register a PWM signal and output the desired pressure? If not, would I need to purchase some DAC device? If so, what would be appropriate?

This, from the link you gave, would seem significant (my emphasis):

As the input signal current increases, the output pressure increases proportionally within the regulating range

Use with sensors that produce the required input signal current

looks like it needs 4-20mA, so pwm + opamp would probably be fine. It probably has a 240 ohm load, so an extra psu of higher than 5v would also be required for the opamp.
An alternative would be a current mirror with gain - try the attached.

The voltage in at the left is an arduino PWM output.
cn1.pdf (15.8 KB)
Pretty much any small signal PNP’s would do - I’d use BC327’s 'cos I’ve got a load of them.
They ought to be matched, but if they’re from the same batch it’ll be near enough.

Note that ‘0’ pwm gives 20mA out, and about ‘180’ gives 4mA ie it goes backwards…

regards

Allan

If you want things the right way up it’ll cost you another transistor…

see enclosed

Allan.

cm2.pdf (18.9 KB)

Thank you for the help, though I am a bit confused. Would the same still apply if it takes an input voltage (0 - 10 V) as the "Input Signal DC Voltage Range" description says?