Air temperature control

Hi! I'm new to arduino and I'm trying to design a mini semi autonomous greenhouse. I'm having trouble finding a way to heat and cool the air. The greenhouse would basically be a box of about 0.125m³ with a plant inside.

Here are some options I've found so far: - use resistors to heat the air (5W of dissipation seem enough) - use a thermo electric cooler (as showed here https://tinyurl.com/ybn8dlwb) - use a fan system (I don't really know how it would work) - use hot and cold water.

What do you think would be the best way of controlling air temperature of a box like this? Are there other options that come to your mind? Please let me know :) .

1. Yes, that’s how heaters work.

2. No. Peltier coolers are extremely inefficient. So much so that it is difficult to stop them just heating up the “cold” side.

3. Yes. A greenhouse in the sun is always hotter than the outside air. Bringing in fresh air from outside will cool it.

4. If you have access to appropriately hot and cold water, yes. Outside of an industrial plant or large building which supplies this as a service, it is not going to be very good. You don’t usually have hot water pipes in your garden and the “cold” water in the garden hose might be heated by the sun.

A fan or vent will let you cool the greenhouse as required. Insulate and plug air leaks until there is no artificial heating required.

Thank you for your reply. Well, in fact the greenhouse would be used indoors and the point is to be able to grow any plant regardless of the season, thererfore it would not be possible to rely on outside air to heat or cool the greenhouse. I just read that fans can not cool or heat the air because they just make it move.

As a result, resistors seem to be the best option to heat the air and peltier coolers (with a heat sink) the best option to cool the air inside the greenhouse.