Alarm Clock - Brightest Output for Lights

Hello Everyone,
I'm a beginner with Arduino, but I'm a long-time programmer.
I have 4 children, 1 of which is very difficult to get up for school.
I'm going to make an alarm clock to wake him up using Arduino.
There are lots of good resources for information here, and I've picked up about RTM boards, and there are literally dozens of clock projects. I've also seen some items about powering the Arduino from household power. I'm thinking about mounting it on a 3D printed housing on a light switch.

The question I have is:
I want to create a very bright source of light when the alarm goes off. Light is one of the stimulus that encourages people to wake up.
What are the parts I need to drive very bright LEDs to light up a small 12x12 room - like it is daylight.
My dad is into a few things and has some LED based flashlights that are bright like I'm thinking.

So, I'd like to start with the bright LEDs and hook them up to a breadboard and blind myself with them - while I order some of the other parts for the next steps. If possible, link to purchase at Amazon or Aliwhatever that everyone seems to get parts from.

Thanks in advance for any assistance.

Extra points if there is even the slightest chance that it is a multi-colored LED that I can change color and increase intensity. Nice to have, not required.

**If necessary, I'd certainly entertain a relay to a separate power source to run as bright a light as I can - as long as there is a real benefit.
AJ

In my opinion, you can use the RGB LED strip. To make it easy, choose the unaddressable LED strip. This LED allows you to change different colors. The link and instruction is available in this Arduino Tutorial

Wow, that's great. I didn't think that would be in the tutorials. :slight_smile:
Thanks for not eating me alive.

And these tutorials are great. Live links to what I need to buy and alternatives.

Many Thanks!
AJ

Some ideas which may be of help/interest?