Alarm Clock Integration via Speaker Voltage - Newb

Hello all. I’m a novice to this when it comes to microprocessors. I’m looking to start my first project but have a very basic question that I can’t seem to find any information on, mostlikely due to my ignorance to the terminology. Project entails taking a previous alarm clock and using the buzzer as an input to do other actions with the arduino. I know this is very basic but is this easily achieved as it will be just reading for voltage… After seeing all the tutorials on adding pots and light sensors I’m realizing these are resistors that work by putting current through them and measuring difference in resistance. What happens if there is already current through them and using it as a switch more or less. Again, pardon my ignorance. It seems like I would either need to use a transistor or a relay of some sort for this correct? Let me know if I’m way off or if I’m heading in the right direction. Thanks again guys. :grin:

I know this is very basic but is this easily achieved as it will be just reading for voltage... After seeing all the tutorials on adding pots and light sensors I'm realizing these are resistors that work by putting current through them and measuring difference in resistance.

Usually, you are looking for a change in voltage caused by a change in resistance.

For example, with two resistors in series, the voltage gets divided aross the resistors proportionally to the resistance ratio. If apply 5V across two equal-value resistors in series, each resistor will have 2.5V across it. If you increase the resistance of one resistor, the voltage across that resistor goes up.