alimentation Arduino + 4 sensors + 1 relay

Hello, I’m completely new to Arduino,

My project consists of installing an anticollision system on a moving machine.

That’s why I would like to

• wire 4 SRF05 sensors to my Arduino Uno card
  • control an electrical relay from the Arduino, in function of the signals issued from the sensors

If one of the 4 sensors detects an obstacle closer to a threshold I previously set in the Arduino, then the Arduino opens the relay and the machine stops moving.

consommation of

• one sensor : 5V, 30 to 50mA => 4 sensors < 200mA
  • the Arduino : 55mA (apparently)
  • the relay : I don’t know much about relays, but I would like a relay closed when the Arduino sends 5V and opened when it sends 0V. The relay communtes a 24V line, <50mA (charge line).

Here is my first question : for this relay function to be done, I have found this one : ref n° 2919726 at RadioSpare. Do you think it is suitable for my use?

My second question is : can the USB cable from the PC to the Arduino be sufficient to power all of this ?

Thank you very much!

maybe the 5V of the usb cannot power it, because initially it can only supply 150mA then AFTER that supply 500mA, but you can try, maybe monitor the 5V with a multimeter on the arduino

that relay must be powered with 24V so i think it's not suitable for you, you need a 5V one (a stupid\standard type) and you need to power it via a transistor and don't forget the anti-spike dieode across the relay (browse the internet for this circuit)

Thank you for your answer!
As you say, I'll try the USB power supply or I just found a standard 9V external power supply.

Concerning the relay, you are right, I need one that can be powered with 5V so I lookek for one and I figured out that standard relays allow a maximum duration power command of a few microseconds...