All 4 Lights are on, Arduino Not working properly.

Hello Everyone :slight_smile: ,
I am a beginner to all this stuff,
recently bought my Arduino Uno R3 from TechShopBD, a famous retailer in my country,
I was trying to make a LCD Thermometer using this link

Suddenly,
Out of nowhere at the middle of my Board smoke started rising,
So I turned it off making sure there was no damage done.
I did everything and at last I find that my device manager nether The Arduino IDE detects my Arduino and all of the lights are ON.
I would request help ASAP since I am trying to learn Arduino for school events which I hope will happen after this COVID-19 stops.

The first thing to do is carefully study your circuit until you can determine what was the error you made that destroyed your board. It's important to use mistakes as an opportunity to learn, so that hopefully we won't repeat them.

After that, write a note about what happened to the board, attach that note in some way to the board, and throw it in your electronics salvage bin.

Then buy a new Uno (better yet, get two in order to avoid future interruptions) and get back to your journey of learning.

"Magic smoke incidents" are an inevitable part of learning about electronics. Of course, we should always do our best to avoid them, but also accept that they will happen and make sure we don't let that hold us back.

My guess is that you were using external power and connected it improperly. It is very hard to get a "magic smoke incident" any other way...

Also, I recommend cheap CH340G-based clones, particularly for novices who are more likely to connect things wrong - they are considerably more resistant to abuse than "real" Unos, and much cheaper to replace if you do (the atmega16u2 used as serial adapter on official boards is relatively easy to destroy) - you can't reprogram the serial adapter to pretend to be a mouse/keyboard/joystick (via UnoJoy et al), but most people don't do this.