Allergic Reaction Detection

Hi!
I am a research science student looking to create a bracelet which could detect an allergic reaction and alert the wearer if a reaction is occurring. During an allergic reaction, mast cells release chemicals such as histamine into the bloodstream. The release of these chemicals are responsible for the symptoms that occur in an allergic reaction (examples: sore throat, hives, low blood pressure, etc.). I originally planned on using Raman spectroscopy to detect histamines in the bloodstream. However, the price of an efficient Raman device is far outside of my budget range. I have considered using other precursors that are involved in an allergic reaction, such as low blood pressure. I have been brainstorming ideas to create a bracelet that could monitor one’s blood pressure and use the rapid decrease in blood pressure to determine an allergic reaction. However, many blood pressure monitors exist (usually not for allergy purposes, but for other purposes), and blood pressure could decrease for other reasons. Additionally, one’s blood vessels dilate during an allergic reaction, which is known as vasodilation. However, I am not sure how this dilation can be detected. I was wondering if there are any Arduino products that would help me create a bracelet that could sense an allergic reaction? Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

You can't work backwards from a programming concept to a design, especially in this case. First you have to find a working measurement strategy. Then worry about what hardware you will need. Then code. Perhaps there is someone here who can answer your question about a vasodilation measurement, but I doubt it. Try a medical forum.

As a doctor, how would you measure vasodilation?

aarg:
As a doctor, how would you measure vasodilation?

Lack of consciousness. :smiling_imp: