Alt-Az Tracking Device - Astronomy Help!

Hi Guys.

I'm a Mechanical Engineering student who has been tasked with developing a design that consists of tracking known constellations.

Part of this design is to create a control system which will read two user inputs, one being altitude (Right Ascension) and the other being azimuth (declination), and then move the telescope to the desired input. The range of motion for the altitude is 60 degrees of the vertical axis in either direction and the azimuthal range is 360 degrees in the horizontal plane. The telescope will have to be moved by two servo motors on each axis to the desired input. Once the telescope is n the desired position, it will have to constantly track those coordinates as the earth rotates at what i assume is a slower speed.

Being a first year Mechanical Engineering student, I have no idea on how to accomplish the feat and have been recommended to this site by a lecturer from the university.

If anyone can help me from understanding the concept, through the various stages what components i will require to achieve this, and ofcourse assist with the programmable code if one is necessary, that would be a huge help.

Thanks

I'm sure we can help you with the motor control but you need to explain how this is supposed to work in a bit more detail From what I understand, the user enters (somehow) the two parameters you described . Then what happens ?

I suspect what you will need is a system that can drive 2 stepper motors, ie. one for azimuth and one for elevation.

You need to arrange the gearing on the steppers to give you the desired minimum movement step of the telescope (you'd need to ask your lecturer for this information)