Alternating Voltage reader

I am doing a school project where we are build a linear dynamo as seen here http://www.sciencespace.nl/servlet/supportBinaryFiles?referenceId=42&supportId=4320 that needs to be shaken by children in order to create power.

What we are building is based on the Mechanically powered flashlight - Wikipedia
The idea is that with the help of Arduino I can read the voltage and that at a certain voltage leds will go on. For example at 0.2 voltage red led will turn on, at 0.4 voltage orange and at 0.7 the green led.

From my snooping around on the internet it looks like Analog to Digital Conversion (ADC) is the only option that seems viable (If there is a beter option please post this).
But i am a novice and I have no idea how to build this can anyone help me with this?

PS. At the moment we are not storing the power anywhere but I do take that this is a requirement for what I am trying to do?

I think I would use a bridge rectifier to turn the AC pulses into pulsed DC, then store the DC in a fairly large capacitor with a resistor across it. The resistor will slowly drain the capacitor so the charge (voltage) in the capacitor is a measure of how fast you are pumping energy into it.

Just connect the minus (-) side of the capacitor to Arduino Ground and the plus (+) side to one of the analog input pins. That lets you read the voltage and then it's just software to light the appropriate lights.

Thank you John for replying to my topic I have question regarding the bridge rectifier.
So far the highest voltage we measured while using our own linear dynamo was 0.7 (This was when we shook it really hard) but from my understanding a diode creates a drop in voltage around 0.7 Volt . So with that in mind is it correct that this solution wont work? The linear dynamo will need to generate a higher voltage I take it?

And can I just interface our linear dynamo through a copperwire to the Arduino?