alternative solutions to the "for" statement

Hi everyone :slight_smile: , I'm new in the Arduino and programming world and this is my first topic so be patient please :confused: .
I'm in trouble with my code and I don't know how to answer to my question.
I'm projecting a control unit for a cold cuts seasoning cell, to control the humidity and temperature inside the cell itself.
The values are printed in a OLED screen and with 3 buttons I can change the thresholds of humidity and temperature in the hysteresis.
I'd like to get a read of T° and H every second and then calculate the median every 5 seconds. Probably I could use an array for the two "macro-variables" but I'm afraid if I use a "for" cycle the code out of the "for" statement is executed every 5 seconds, losing the readiness to read a button pressed.
Every help is appreciated !!
Thanks a lot
Piero

What is a “macro variable”?

If you don’t want to use a for loop, don’t.
Just control your indexing in your top-secret code explicitly.

Hello Piero,
Welcome.

I'm projecting a control unit for a cold cuts seasoning cell

Please explain what that means, I can't speak for anyone else but I have never heard of such a thing.

The values are printed in a OLED screen and with 3 buttons I can change the thresholds of humidity and temperature in the hysteresis.

I infer from that that you have some code already, please post it in code tags as per the instructions you were directed to before your first post.

Please also post your best attempt at doing this yourself and explain where you got stuck.

The alternative to a for loop is to let loop() do the looping, there are examples in the tutorials on this site, such at the excellent demonstration for doing several things at once.

I'd suggest structuring your code like this (pseudo code):

void loop()
{
  if ( 1 second has elapsed )
  {
    take_reading();
    if ( 5 seconds have elapsed )
      calculate_median();
  }
  ... do any other stuff ...
}