Amarino Moto Logger

Hello I am totally new to the Arduino platform and inexperienced with ADK as well. For my first project, Id like to build a data logger which is synced to my Android phone, The only thing i need this logger to do is keep track of time. however I need it to start the timer when I hit a button on my handlebar and stop the timer when either a reset button is hit or I reach a predetermined destination. The GPS program I am using on my droid is CoPilot live. Is it possible to program a background process that will signal the Arduino to stop the timer when i have reached my destination? Also I need the unit to save the times for later retrieval. Any help or direction would be much appreciated. Thank you-Rob

Hi,

Ashdricky: Hello I am totally new to the Arduino platform and inexperienced with ADK as well.

And welcome :)

Ashdricky: The only thing i need this logger to do is keep track of time. however I need it to start the timer when I hit a button on my handlebar and stop the timer when either a reset button is hit or I reach a predetermined destination.

The first part (with the button press) is very straightforward. The Arduino knows about time to the millisecond, give or take the usual caveats around accuracy which shouldn't impact this application. The button interface is easy, and with a battery backed-up real-time clock module you can get the date/time to remain persistent after powering down. Logging can be done to many different media (even the interweb with the right hardware) but there is some inbuilt EEPROM that would do the job, and SD card modules as well.