Ambitiouse project in the works

I want to start by saying that I love the Arduino community and all of its branches and opensource spirit. In light of that I wanted to make a big project that involves a few forums and could benefit quite a few people that this "niche" project might apply to.

Now, a quick disclaimer, I am an amateur. I am no electrical engineer, I am not a programmer and I am not an expert in anything.

So the basic idea is mostly going to appeal to car enthusiasts, modders, Lighting enthusiast, and so on. What I want to do is be able to take your favorite classic, vintage, outdated vehicle and outfit it with the latest tech that the new cars have all in a DIY fashion. This can obviously go as far as your imagination and pockets can take you. But for now I want to start small… well, medium.

Every car since the early 1980’s on has had some sort of on board computer with serial communication capability as well as many other modules. We could extract all kinds of cool useful data that we could turn into useful readouts for us. Like if you have a manual transmission you could make shift lights for yourself, you can make a read out for you air fuel mixture or the temp of any sensor your car comes equipped with. Of coarse some cars will be more capable than others, but due to the standardization of OBD-2, there is still lots of potential to add all kinds of functionality to your car and at the very least, some personality.

Past the OBD-2 serial communication, newer cars are equipped with peripheral networks. I am not familiar with them all, but I have been introduced to Can Bus, K-Bus and I-Bus, that I understand lots of cars from 2000 on share. Specifically I know all E46(BMW 3 series from 1998-2006) come equipped with this network that interconnects all the modules and sensors in the car. If you have a BMW or Lexus in the same “age range” a lot of the coding and interfacing, I hear, will be identical.