Amp build enquiry

Hi all, this is my first time posting and I was advised to post here by Arduino support, so please forgive me if I’m asking something dumb.

A friend and I are in the process of building a guitar amp, and I am currently trying to get my head around a means of controlling the amp using a footswitch. In addition to swapping between 2 amp channels (low-gain and high-gain/distortion), I will also be using an Empress Echosystem, which has the capability of switching between 35 presets using MIDI.

We will either need to buy a footswitch to control both the amp and the Echosystem (such as the Morningstar MC6), or build one ourselves, but I’m not sure if I would need to include Arduino hardware in the amp itself or in the footswitch – or both. How would I go about achieving this?

We’ve dealt with standard electronics before but this is the first time delving into the world of MIDI/microcontrollers etc, so I might find that I’m out of my depth, but I thought I may as well ask the question.

Any suggestions or tips would be greatly appreciated.

I'm not understanding exactly what you want to do and I'm not sure if a footswitch is a practical way of switching between 35 presets, plus a few amplifier options. At a minimum, you'd probably need a numeric LED display showing which preset you've selected.

I'd say you should think about the user interface first.

The amp doesn't have to be MIDI controlled, but you'll need some simple logic if you want to rotate-through the options by activating a single switch. You just need a simple "counter" or shift-register circuit to switch relays (or an analog-switch chip). But, if you are "deep-into" building a MIDI controller it should be easy-enough to build MIDI into the amp you're building.