Amplifier circuit for 12V piezo speaker

Hey all,

I’ve been working on designing an amplifier circuit for my 12V speaker. I can’t seem to get this design to actually produce any noise when I wire it all up and try to feed it a signal, however. Here is the sketch I am using to test my speaker:

const int speakerPin = 2;

void setup() {
  // initialize the speaker pin as an output:
  pinMode(speakerPin, OUTPUT);
}

void loop() {
  tone(speakerPin, 1000);
  delay(1000);
  noTone(speakerPin);
  delay(1000);
}

I’ve attached a picture of my circuit as I have it wired up currently to this post as well as the circuit diagram that I modeled it on (note that I’ve replaced the MOSFET shown here with an IRLB8748, the 68 ohm for a 56 ohm, and the 220uF for a 330 uF purely because the originals were unavailable). Ground and power to the speaker are connected to a power supply set to 12V. Let me know what you think. I’m sure it’s rather basic. I’m new to amplifier design…

Hello nekomancer,

A lot of people here, myself included, don't like following links to unknown external sites because of the risk of malware. Please read items #8 and #9 in 'how to use this forum - please read' and post your images here.

Thank you.

It seems you're driving the gate with positive pulses of only 2.3volt.

Remove that gate capacitor, so you drive the gate with 5volt PWM instead of ±2.5volt PWM.

Remove that 1k2 resistor, and add a 10k resistor from Arduino pin to ground, so you don't have a voltage divider on the gate.

Are you sure that's a piezo speaker?
Do you have a link to the product page or datasheet.
A common piezo can also be driven between two Arduino pins (in bridge mode) with the toneAC library.
Leo..

PerryBebbington:
Hello nekomancer,

A lot of people here, myself included, don't like following links to unknown external sites because of the risk of malware. Please read items #8 and #9 in 'how to use this forum - please read' and post your images here.

Thank you.