Amplifying an input voltage/ op amps

I am trying to make a IR glucometer that sends IR light through the glucose solution and depending on how much glucose is in it, the arduino would get a different reading. I have the IR emitter and detector set up, but my problem is that the change in readings between different glucose levels isnt large enough. Is there a way for me to amplify the input to the arduino so that I will be able to see a larger difference?

The Serial monitor shows ~39 when the IR emitter is active and ~892 when it is off, so I'm fairly certain the emitters and detectors are working correctly. I need a way to show different values depending on the glucose levels.

Right now I have a bunch of LM324 op amps.

I'm pretty new to arduino and electronics so any help would be HUGELY appreciated.

Thanks so much!!

welcome to teh list and your first post.

I would invite you to explain quite a bit more.

what IR receiver ? got a link ? is it analog ? 3.3 volts ?

you really did not offer enough of the sensors to allow us to offer any help.

do you understand the concept of range ? try to measure the thickness of a piece of paper with a meter stick (yard stick) on the floor and your paper on the desk.

have someone put in some random numbers of papers and measure again.

you can try to amplify something, but if your thing to be measured is less than the sensitivity of your instruments, it will not offer good results.

The Serial monitor shows ~39 when the IR emitter is active and ~892 when it is off,

So, what are the high/low glucose readings?

If you're reading ~39, switching to the optional 1.1V ADC reference will multiply your readings by about 5x.

Can we see a schematic? If you have a phototransistor and a pull-up resistor, a lower value pull-up will pull-up "harder" and give you higher readings.

It's easy to make a [u]non-inverting amplifier[/u] with an op-amp, but you'll need a bipolar power supply greater than +/-5V or a "rail-to-rail" op-amp.