an 8192 sensors matrix scanning in under 4ms?

Hi everyone,

So i'm a musician, and i have this electronic drum project where i'd like to scan a matrix of 8192 simple sensors (FSRs), each sensor is a 5mm square of interdigitating fingers with some piezo-resistive stuff on it to create a variable resistance across the electrodes, varying with finger pressure. All of them are disposed in a 128x64 array... and i need to scan them really, really fast, more precisely, i need to make a full scan in under 4ms... (I know, i know... i know...) to have a large proper multitouch XYZ pad.

let's say... let's feel optimistic and consider the best case scenario, with a full matrix scan in 1ms, that's more than 8 millions of ADC conversions per sec, plus all the demux and mux switching, and that's only for the data acquisition. For what's next, i decided that whatever the microchip(s) i use, i would only scan the matrix with it, and then, only if it's relevant (meaning at least a determined threshold has been crossed), send data out (I2C, TX, whatever i'll figure...) to a computer for post treatment (force evaluation, and sound triggering), so i'm not overcrowding the serial or whatever other connexion with Mbs of useless data... So the data coming out of the chip would be a bunch of coordinates and a voltage value as integers, at the very worse 5 fingers x 4 sensors per finger at the same time x 2 coordinates per sensor + voltage value = 60 bytes (or more depending on which resolution i choose for the voltage) per ms.

I put a lot of thinking into this, and considered dozens of different ways i could implement this, but for each one there's a catch, a problem, or simply some knowledge i would have to painfully and time consumingly acquire in order to just theoreticaly evaluate the relevance of it...

I've been thinking for ages (ok, only monthes...) and i still have nothing, well i know what won't work, which leaves me with only what i don't know if it could work...