An idea to avoid need for a complex H-bridge in 2-way driving electric motor

:o Hello. I am new to electronics. I have looked at a few H-bridges which all seem so complex in design.
I did some thinking and "came up" with a simple idea that may possibly avoid the need for an full H-bridge, and uses just two transistors. It worked when I tried it, but I have not yet attached it to the arduino for fear that I may have overlooked some simple aspect of electronics and eventually blow up the arduino! As stated, I am a beginner and would really appreciate expert feedback on this circuit diagram before I try attaching it to my arduino! Many thanks in advance!

My old design (several first post responded to and showed to be shorting):

[later edit which does not short:]
New Design.png

New Design.png

The transistor will short battery to GND. It cannot work.
Basic H-bridge is just 4 transistors. It seems simpler than having two batteries.

There are 2 ways to switch a bidirectional load, either single supply + H-bridge (using 4 switches),
or bipolar power supply and 2 switches - you've rediscovered the latter.

The latter is not normally used as the cost of a whole second power supply exceeds the cost
of two switching devices.

This is also why class-D (switching) audio amps are typically single-supply, though analog
audio amplifiers are commonly dual-supply. For analog amps the cost of a whole second
amplifier tends to exceed that of a second supply (the opposite case).

Consider how possible it is that in 100 years of design for literally millions of motor circuits, somehow thousands of experimenters and engineers missed a fairly obvious idea.

If you are interested in pursuing this hobby, would be a good idea for you to learn how to draw schematic diagrams. There is a pretty good tutorial at How to Read a Schematic - learn.sparkfun.com.