Analog Disc Echo & Sampler

Hello friendly people of the Arduino forum,

my name is André and I am quite new to Arduino. I am not a complete beginner of the required hard- and software skills – but i found myself wanting stuff without knowing all the correct steps to go there.
I managed to do the basic tutorials and everything worked fine, now i need your help for building up a very unique project of mine. I am very glad if you people find it interesting and (in best case) can help me with it.

Currently I try to figure out how to build a eurorack based module, which on the one hand works as a simple analog tape delay and on the other hand as an analog (yes analog) audio sampler (in stereo).
At the end it should work with DAW–MIDI changes, like start, stop, record, loop, at a synced bpm-rate.

It is a disk-echo built, not a tape or cassette build (Like Binson Echorec or Schaller Amps)
because i want to have exact angle positions of the disk so it runs perfectly in sync and rhythm.

This is achieved by using an Arduino UNO, a 28BYJ-48 stepper motor (already powered by eurorack), a ULN2003 driver (until i get a motor shield), a MIDI shield and an audio shield (right now i use an old walkman-pcb for playback and record).

Right now I managed it to work so far

I attached everything correctly and set up a piece of code.
I built a prototype-echo-disc with a piece of regular cassette tape outside.
I use a simple eurorack mixing module to play with echo-feedback.
I got two buttons (start and stop) on my breadboard,
and a potentiometer to regulate the speed of the echo.

The motor should simply run after the start signal went in (right now by button, later by MIDI),
and it should stop when the stop signal is run in (easy right?).

I set up two interrupt voids (start & stop) but I don't know how to do it correctly – can you help me?
Right now I think its a good way to define states like:

• PLAY (ACTIVATE PLAYBACK HEAD + TURN MOTOR + LED GREEN ON)