Analog Inputs seeing incorrect values when reading from bread board.

Hi,

I'm new to Arduino, and recently bought the Arduino Uno Rev3. I was just testing out how analogRead works, and am having some issues. My code is the following:

int sensorValue; void setup() { // initialize the digital pin as an output. Serial.begin(9600); }

void loop() { sensorValue = analogRead(A4); Serial.println(sensorValue); delay(10); }

I'm just looking to get the current analog value every 10 msec. To test, I connect pin A4 to the on-board 5V analog output on the Arduino, and I see a value of 1023 being outputted. When I connect pin A4 to the on-board 3.3 V, I see 667 (with a few 668) being outputted. Lastly, connecting to the on-board analog GND gives a value of zero.

However, when connecting A4 to the output of a voltage divider (EXTERNAL 5V source voltage, with two 1K resistors in series, and EXTERNAL GND), I expect to see a number that corresponds to 2.5 V (as my multimeter shows). However, I seem to just be getting random values, as follows:

613 808 970 557 1008 753 661 1023 589 859 919 559 1008 706

Am I using this Arduino incorrectly? Should note that when I use the onboard 5V and GND for my 1K/1K voltage divider, I see a value of 510, as expected. Any help is appreciated.

What do you mean by external 5v source and external ground?

If you take a perfectly isolated source like a battery, totally unrelated to whatever is powering the arduino, and make a voltage divider across it, and connect the output of that to the addition input without connecting the ground of the battery to the ground of the arduino, you will get random voltages.

This is because voltages only have meaning relative to another voltage. When your Arduino pin says you have one volt, it means that the voltage is one volt higher than ground.

But what is the output of our isolated 2.5v divider battery? It's 2.5v above the voltage of ITS ground reference, aka it's negative terminal.