Analog pin descrepancy

I'm running a Solenoid circuit through a transistor with an outside power source with my Osepp Uno R3. I have digital pin 9 connected through a 1k resistor to the base, and this pin is pwm on the R3. Utilizing analogRead(), I can tell that the value on the pin is about 400 when I first load the sketch and evens off to around 280 whether I write a value of 0 or 1000 to the pin. As long as the pin is connected to the base of the transistor, the circuit runs, but writing a value of 0 will not turn it off. Disconnecting the power source OR the digital pin will turn off the solenoid circuit. This tells me my circuit is correct, and that my pin could be outputting power I didn't intend.

What could be causing this? Is it possible I've damaged the board in some way? I'm a total noob so I immensely appreciate any advice or insight.

Here is the code:

void setup() {
  // put your setup code here, to run once:
Serial.begin(9600);

}

void loop() {
  // put your main code here, to run repeatedly:
if (Serial.available() > 0)
{
  int inByte = Serial.read();

switch (inByte)
  {
    case 'w':
      analogWrite(9, 0);
      Serial.println("Turned off");
      break;
    case 'q':
      analogWrite(9, 1000);
      Serial.println("Turned on");
      break;
    default:
      Serial.println("No command recognized.");
      int val = analogRead(9);
      Serial.println(val);
      break;
  }
}

}

Can you post schematic of how everything is wired?

I was unaware that you could analogRead() pin 9.

Hi,

whether I write a value of 0 or 1000

the values of 0 to 255 are valid PWM outputs.

Tom..... :slight_smile:

Ok, I've tested this, and of course not - you cannot analogRead pin 9. the output is similar to a floating pin.

Eddie, what are you trying to do with this? Try putting the long lead of a LED into pin 9, twisting the short lead to a 330 ohm resistor, and putting the other end of the resistor into the GND pin.