Analog ratiometric sensor

I am a mechanical designer. I built a 3d printed tool. But don’t know how to wire it up.
The controller needs to be real small.

I have a “16-bit ratiometric sensor”.
The guy I bought it from (over 5 years ago) said it requires a 9V regulated power supply to reach full 16-bit analog ADC resolution.

It has 3-wires: + (Red); - (Black); and “Signal” (Yellow).

If it matters, the 9V Alkaline battery I used is not new.
It reads 9.05V or 9.06V on my Multi-meter (on different days).

I hooked this battery + to Red wire & - to Black wire.
Multi-meter from Yellow to Black wire reads from -2.52 to -6.57 V .
Multi-meter from Yellow to Red wire reads from +2.45 to +6.75 V.
(Each read separately) Seems very repeatable.

How do I read this with Arduino, even at 10-bit steps?

Possibly a different topic, I really want to read it in 4,000 steps. At least 2048 steps.

For now, I believe 6.5V is too much for Arduino so I haven’t wired it up.

I can read and debounce the rotary encoder and write the reading to my little 0.96" OLED screen but my ignorance is getting the better of me on this.

I hope I don’t have to spend another 2 months learning something else way over my head and I am looking for any help I can get.

AccuStar_I_Series-5482.pdf (325 KB)

Did you read the datasheet? It seems that you have the ratiometric version, so you'll be using the Arduino's ADC, which is 10-bit. (If you had the serial data output model, you'd be using the device's own 16-bit ADC.)

Did you notice that you don't need to use 9v? The datasheet says the ratiometric version can be powered with an input voltage as low as 5v.

In fact, you shouldn't use a 9v battery. If you do, you lose the "ratiometricity." Also, you will damage your Arduino since at certain inclinations your device's output will exceed the maximum pin voltage of your Arduino.