Analog vs Digital Pins with an Uno

Hi

I’m sorry if my questions are a little lame, I’m new to Arduino and electronics in general.

I have a project that reads 4 air pressure sensors, performs some calculations and displays the values on 4 x seven digit displays.
To complete the project, I want to include a 6 position rotary switch so I can select different algorithms that the code can apply to the Analogue values coming from the sensors.

The way I thought of doing this is to connect 5v to the rotary switch with a single output and a set of resistors so that Ii would get varying voltage depending on the selector rotary switch position.

I was going to use one of the Arduino Analogue pins to check the voltage to determine which position the selector is at.
Problem is that I have used up all 6 analogue inputs.

I guess I could use one of the free digital pins and use an analogue to digital converter but I don’t have a lot of space to be adding more boards.

My question is ….
Most of the digital pins are free so can I wire up 6 selector outputs to 6 digital pins and just check in the code which pin is on or off?
I assume the digital pins handle 5 volts directly to them?

Is there another way of doing this using one Digital pin?

Thanks in advance
Sam

Most of the digital pins are free so can I wire up 6 selector outputs to 6 digital pins and just check in the code which pin is on or off?
[Yes]

I assume the digital pins handle 5 volts directly to them?
[Yes]

Is there another way of doing this using one Digital pin?
[Maybe. Need 2 to have software I2C to read an ADC, need 3/4 to perform SPI read of an ADC, or a shift-in register, need 3 pins to select 1 of 8 pins to read from a multiplexer/analog switch.
If you have SPI in place already for other functions, then its just 1 pin more as chip select to another device (ADC, shift-in register).
ADC, shift-in register is 1 chip plus a 0.1uF Vcc decoupling cap.]

Hi Crossroad

Thanks for your response.