Analogread() on attiny85 (arduino tiny core) problem

Hi guys! I'm pretty new to arduino (I've had since Christmas), but since I have previous programming experience (software for pc and for fun only), I have always been able to cope with all problems pretty soon. Until now. I was porting my project (universal super duper thing for visually impaired-meter, clock, stopwatch, kitchen timer and water level detector all in one btw.) from arduino to attiny85 via arduino as ISP using newest version of arduino tiny core (http://code.google.com/p/arduino-tiny/) when I ran into following problem: When I start it, it beeps to show it works ok (code in setup() routine), and then attemps to read analog value from connected button. (Reason for this is that I connect 2 buttons via one analog pin-each button has different resistor attached to it, allowing me to know which button is pressed by reading analog value. So I have to do initial calibration, because I don't know how high exactly is the voltage of batteries.) BUT! When my Attiny attemps to read the value, it fails miserably! The value (which I obtained by beeping it out using the algorithm that would normally show minutes, centimeters, etc.) is either 1020 (if I use pin 3), or 7 (if I use pin 4), but doesn't seem to be affected by pressing buttons. Plus, if I use pin 3, voltmeter shows battery voltage (=cca 3v) between it and ground! On pin 4, idle voltage is 0v and it changes when I press buttons, but attiny doesn't seem to care. I have set pins as input pins correctly; on big Arduino Duemillanove it all works out of the box. I am using external pulldown resistors (not relying on built in pullups). Any idea what it might be? It's driving me crazy. Thank you very much. :)

I have more questions than answers, goodhen