AnalogRead too slow… Faster alternative?

For a program that I'm working on, I want to get an accurate reading from a noisy pressure sensor. So, the idea that I have is to do a thousand AnalogRead commands on the same port very quickly and then average them. The pressure readings become very precise, however, the program that I am running becomes very slow. I need my program to be orders of magnitude faster.

I'm sure that there's a faster way to do AnalogRead commands, especially because I am requesting the same port over and over. Maybe there's a way that I can take lower resolutions of readings and then average those? I don't know. Can anyone help me? I am an amateur Arduino user looking to learn.

I have done a little bit of research on my own and had trouble finding concrete examples.

See this tutorial (among many other discussions that are quite rapidly accessed via Google) http://www.openmusiclabs.com/learning/digital/atmega-adc/

For rapidly reading the ADC without using AnalogRead, see this example http://wiki.openmusiclabs.com/wiki/Example

The pressure readings become very precise, however, the program that I am running becomes very slow. I need my program to be orders of magnitude faster.

How long is it taking? I'm pretty sure you can get more than 1000 readings in 1/10th of a second if you are not doing anything else.

If you are sending every reading to the serial monitor, that will slow things down.

...I'll bet an average of 1000 readings is no more accurate than an average of 100 readings. You could also use an analog filter (a resistor and capacitor) to reduce the noise. And/or you might want to use some "fuzzy logic" to throw-away outlier readings, especially if there are readings that you know are outside of the true range.

If you want a faster A/D then put this in the setup function:-

// set up fast ADC mode
   ADCSRA = (ADCSRA & 0xf8) | 0x04; // set 16 times division