analogread values over Serial between 2 arduinos question

Hi there. I’m new to to the world of Arduino so apologies

I’m trying to create a system whereby a Digipot is controlled on an Arduino Duo using bit values generated from the analog pins of an Arduino Mega, using serial over RS232 (the final product will be over RS232 Fiber converters) . I’ve succeeded in controlling the digipot using analogread on the Duo - i.e with just one board, but when I try to send values from the analog pins on the mega to the serial port of the duo, instead of 0-1023, I get a range of ~48-56.
I’ve connected the two boards together using serial port 2 of the mega and a softserial port on the duo, wired TX to RX and with the grounds of the two boards connected. I’m then monitoring the values recieved using the normal serial port on the duo over usb on the serial monitor.
Here’s my code for testing the values recieved (ignoring the Digipot for now, as that seems to work OK in isolation…)

Mega Code:

void setup() {

Serial.begin(9600); // open USB serial port
  Serial2.begin(9600); // Open serial port 2

}
void loop()
{
  int val = analogRead(0); // Read the value from the analog pin

Serial.println(val); // print to the IDE serial monitor for debugging
  Serial2.print(val); // print over serial port 2 to 2nd arduino (Duo) 
  delay(2);
}

When I read the analog values of the Mega only, using serial monitor, all is well. The analog pin reads as 0-1023

Here’s my code for the Uno read test:

int val = 0;
  #include <SoftwareSerial.h> // include the Soft Serial library

SoftwareSerial mySerial (2, 3); // RX, TX. Create a software serial port using pin 2 as RX and pin 3 as TX

void setup()
{

Serial.begin(9600); // Start the inbuilt serial port
 mySerial.begin(9600); // start the software serial port
}

void loop(){

int val = mySerial.read(); // read the value being recieved by the software serial port