Analogue 12V input

Hi all,

I'm new to Arduino so full of questions and enthusiasm, mostly dumb questions to the group but I'll ask them anyway....

I'm using my Arduino for 12V Automotive applications that will reference the out put and ground of certain circuits.

Looking at the 12VDC inputs, as they can go from 11.5 V - 14.2V dependent on alternator output , if I used a voltage divider to drop the input to say 4.92V for the analogue input at a 14V Input to a divider then at 11.2 V input I'd have an approx 4V input to the same analogue pin.

How would this effect the Arduino in terms of reading the V input as a high or low?

Mainly I need to know how accurate the analogue input needs to be for example to switch a PWM output on the Arduino if an analogue pin receives between 3.5-5 VDC.

Does it need to be 100% accurate as an input voltage or can I write a code to make an allowance for higher or lower inputs?

Thanks

, if I used a voltage divider to drop the input to say 4.92V for the analogue input at a 14V Input to a divider then at 11.2 V input I'd have an approx 4V input to the same analogue pin.

How would this effect the Arduino in terms of reading the V input as a high or low?

The analog input doesn't read "high" or "low". It reads from 0 to 1023.

If you want, you can write some code that essentially says "if the analog reading is over 300 X is high, otherwise X is low."

You really need to know two thresholds... If high is greater than 4V, how is low defined? If your car puts-out a "low" very-near zero volts and a "high" of about 12V then it should be easy to tell the difference between high and low.

For example, a digital input on the ATmega chip reads anything below 1.5V (0.3Vcc) as low and anything greater than 3.5V (0.7Vcc) as high. Anything in-between is undefined (and may read unreliably high or low).

Hello mack85n.
I'm pretty new to the arduino myself. And to this forum so take my reply in that light.