Android bluetooth HC05 comms w/ byte-flags?

Hello! My HC05 bluetooth module came in the mail and I’ve had a few hours so far to get familiar with it. I was able to send and receive messages from the serial monitor on my PC and the Bluetooth Chat Android Studio sample project.
Now, I want to implement my own system using simple ASCII characters: a byte is sent from my Arduino UNO to Android after an event occurs (for example, after sensor data is received). The byte is received in the Android app, which then begins a new event in-app. Simple! :slight_smile:

But I would like to hear suggestions on where to begin before I journey into the unknown. I have heard of similar projects done in many different, complicated ways. In this thread, I would like to gain knowledge about the minimum steps needed on both Arduino and Android to accomplish such a basic transmit/receive system.

It is worth noting that I am skilled in C and serial comms. I’m new to bluetooth and understand there are different approaches to my project.

That said, if you have experience with what I’m trying to do, I’d appreciate some pointers. Thanks!

pmcg521:
I am skilled in C and serial comms. I’m new to bluetooth and understand there are different approaches… if you have experience with what I’m trying to do,

In the light of what you have already done, what you are trying to do is far from clear, but it sounds rather like you are looking for a complexity that isn’t there. In the immortal words of some guru on this forum, bluetooth is simply “serial without wires”. Since you are already skilled in serial comms, there isn’t much else to say.

If you are actually looking for Arduino<>Arduino comms rather than Arduino<>Android, try
http://www.martyncurrey.com/connecting-2-arduinos-by-bluetooth-using-a-hc-05-and-a-hc-06-pair-bind-and-link/

Nick_Pyner: