Animated Robot Eyes 'Sleep' Function

Hello all,

I'm using the MD Max72xx library and two 8x8 LED matrix displays. I've loaded the example sketch and got it running correctly, along with a pir sensor. I'd like the eyes to appear only when motion is detected, run the animation, then shut off again. I'm brand new to these displays and do not understand how the animation code really works even after reading the documentation. Is there a simple way to do this?

// Program to exercise the MD_MAX72XX library
//
// Uses a sequence of bitmaps defined as a font to display animations of eyes to convey emotion.
// Eyes are coordinated to work together.
//
#include <MD_MAX72xx.h>
#include <SPI.h>
#include "MD_RobotEyes.h"

// NOTE: These pin numbers will probably not work with your hardware and may
// need to be adapted
#define HARDWARE_TYPE MD_MAX72XX::FC16_HW
#define MAX_DEVICES 4

#define CLK_PIN   13  // or SCK
#define DATA_PIN  11  // or MOSI
#define CS_PIN    10  // or SS

//When the robot detects motion, he will wake up
int inputPin = 7;  //input pin for PIR sensor
int pirState = LOW; //start by assuming no motion is detected
int val = 0; //variable for reading the pin status

// SPI hardware interface
MD_MAX72XX M = MD_MAX72XX(HARDWARE_TYPE, CS_PIN, MAX_DEVICES);
// Arbitrary pins
//MD_MAX72XX M = MD_MAX72XX(HADWARE_TYPE, DATA_PIN, CLK_PIN, CS_PIN, MAX_DEVICES);

MD_RobotEyes E;

typedef struct
{
  char name[7];
  MD_RobotEyes::emotion_t e;
  uint16_t timePause;  // in milliseconds
} sampleItem_t;

const sampleItem_t eSeq[] =
{
  { "", MD_RobotEyes::E_NEUTRAL, 20000 },
  { "" , MD_RobotEyes::E_BLINK, 1000 },
  { "" , MD_RobotEyes::E_LOOK_R, 1000 },
  { "" , MD_RobotEyes::E_SCAN_LR, 1000 },
  { "" , MD_RobotEyes::E_WINK, 1000 },
  /*{ "Nutral", MD_RobotEyes::E_NEUTRAL, 20000 },
  { "Blink" , MD_RobotEyes::E_BLINK, 1000 },
  { "Wink"  , MD_RobotEyes::E_WINK, 1000 },
  { "Left"  , MD_RobotEyes::E_LOOK_L, 1000 },
  { "Right" , MD_RobotEyes::E_LOOK_R, 1000 },