Another "lvalue required as left operand of assignment" question.

First off, I’m very new to Arduino and programming. I’m familiar with analog circuitry, but new to programming. I also want to preface this with yes, I did do research but a lot of the threads I came across are above my head in programming language and how people explained this error. So what I tried to do was take the “State Change Detection” template from Arduino’s site and edit it to detect when I push a button, and then turn on an LED for one second when it recognizes the button being pushed. I’m sure there is probably a way simpler way to do this than using a lot of the programming lines used in the template, but again, I’m new. So with this code:

const int buttonPin = A0;
int buttonPushCounter = 0;
int buttonState = 0;
int lastButtonState = 0;

void setup() {
pinMode(buttonPin, INPUT);
pinMode(8, OUTPUT);
}

void loop() {
buttonState = digitalRead(buttonPin);
if (buttonState != lastButtonState) {
if (buttonState == HIGH) {
digitalWrite(8 = HIGH);
delay (1000);
digitalWrite(8 = LOW);
}
}
}

I’m getting the “lvalue required as left operand of assignment” error on the “digitalWrite(8 = LOW)” line. Can someone please explain in simple terms what is meant by this error and how to correct it? Thanks in advance.

digitalWrite(8 = HIGH);

The digitalWrite() function takes two arguments - a pin number and a state.

I have no idea what you are trying to do here, but you can not assign a value to 8. 8 is a constant.

digitalWrite(8, HIGH);

I explained in my original post what I was trying to do (turn an LED on for one second when a button is pushed).

I do see what I was doing wrong now in regards to using "8= LOW" instead of"8, LOW". Thanks for pointing that out.