Another PWM mosfet light dimmer question/help?

Hi there,

i have recently been looking in to a project to be able to dimm a 6v 15watt light bulb pref using PWM as it seems more efficient than using other circuits. Anyway the light bulb shines really bright at about 5v 2-2.1Amps.

I have been looking at some circuits using mosfets however i dont know how to go about the PWM code. I have played around with analogwrite (varying a pot for the dimmer) and other simple codes but it feels as though its not switching fast enough to be a solid light that dimms rather than a blinking light which is whats happening so far.

component parts i have been using are the opto isolator 4n35 and IRF540 mosfet.

anyone shed some light and help me out. i assume its fairly easy to do i am fairly new to using PWM with the arduino.

cheers

but it feels as though its not switching fast enough to be a solid light that dimms rather than a blinking light which is whats happening so far

Arduino analogWrite switches at nearly 500Hz.
Can you post your code?

I did use the analogwrite from the examples that just reads/senses the pot and tested it With the opto and MOSFET first using an led as the output for now.

That just got it blinking at different speeds depending on the pot adjust. But it's not what I am after. I looked at the fade example which fades the led No probs like dims the brightness but it's automactic/specified in the code, I need it to act like the fade example but adjust with a pot. But then Instead of using an led on the output load, use the 6v 15watt @2A light bulb

If that makes sense.

I need it to act like the fade example but adjust with a pot.

Adjust what with a pot? Brightness? That's a single line of code with two function calls and a division. Rate of dimming? That's about five lines of code.

Yeah dimm the brightness with the pot on the analog input.