another soldering quesition - perhaps incorrect use of flux?

Hello, While I was soldering 2mm pin headers to a wireless module, I ran into some issues. I'm a newbie, so any tips would be appreciated.

I used 62/38/2 solder from radio shack. I used a flux pen to wipe across the pins and pads. The flux is not a "no clean" flux. I put the tip of the weller soldering iron (40W) on the pad and pin. Let it sizzle for a 3 seconds there and then poke the solder into the base of the pad where the pin sticks out. It worked great 80% of the time.

The problem is sometime the solder doesn't flow into the spot. I thought it was hot enough, but when I poke it into the base it doesn't melt and instead I bend the length of solder I was holding. Once that happens, it was hell to try to get it to work.

When I sizzle the flux, does that leave a film on the pads? Should I have wiped off the flux before heating it up? From the tutorials I watched, people just apply flux, then heat the pads and solder.

After soldering, the module was pretty hot. There are a couple spots where I ran into the issue and the PCB got a little brown. Is that bad?

I also would like to solicit advice on how to wire the pin headers to an Arduino Uno now that I have the wireless module soldered onto it. The spacing is 2.0mm instead of the standard bread board spacing. Should I just solder male-male dupont wires onto the pin header? I couldn't find 2.0mm F-M dupont cables.

The wireless module looks like this:

With the headers on, it looks kind of like this:

arusr: Hello, While I was soldering 2mm pin headers to a wireless module, I ran into some issues. I'm a newbie, so any tips would be appreciated.

Place the end of the rosin-cored solder between the iron and the pad/pin, then as the solder and rosin melt they flow immediately onto the fresh copper/tin surface before it has time to oxidize. Heating the pad first just risks forming an oxide film and causing heat damage.