Anyone still using the Portenta?

Seems like interest in the Portenta has waned over the last year.

I am still very interested, but feel like only a few others are still using the board. The latest Arduino MBED Core release 1.6.1 has a few improvements and a few more examples. This boards software is just starting to get stable and exciting.

Please like or comment if you are still interested.

1 Like

Hi
i just started with the portenta a few weeks ago. I'm writing my master thesis and want to build a 24GHz radar shield for the portenta. But i have some problems with debugging and i think i have a broken bootloader. here is my post.

As a total beginner in programming embedded systems it can be very fustrating, but step by step i will reach my goal :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hi,

I am just starting with the portenta, and I intend to use it in the BMS sector.

This seems to be a powerful and flexible board, but it definitely does not have the same volume of code shared, so virtually no shared basis to build on.
I fully intend to share basic code like connecting the portenta to Modbus RTU or IP or I/Os, as soon as some code of mine on it will work. Right now I am just trying to connect it to the IoT Cloud (wifi or preferably IP socket).
In parallel, we are working on a nextion-based tactile screen that could be eather clipped on the Portenta Machine Control or surface-mounted on the cabinet, using the CAN bus in both cases to connect it to the portenta MC through a Nano Every and an SPI/CAN shield.

So Yes, some do work on the Portenta ...

Didier, DG2R

1 Like

Wow, that post got really technical really fast. I agree the portenta has connection issues sometimes, but even with the regular arduino IDE I can always use usb for power, re save a basic sketch, double press the button, find the port and reboot the portenta. Have you tired it without the breakout board?

Nice DG2 the lack of example code issue is a problem.