Appropriate Motor/Shield/Power for 1st timer's Lazy-Susan

Hello. This is only my second post, so please excuse my stupid questions. I am new to working with electronics and Arduino as well as motors and gears. I have done quite a bit of research and experimenting and even almost blew myself up one time, but I am still struggling with this project. Please review the brief description I have - I will gladly welcome any tips, advice, and general knowledge any of you may offer. My main concerns involve the proper torque (I am completely overwhelmed by all the formulas and gear ratios, etc), powering, and overall size.

Project: Motorized Lazy-Susan with ability to control speed and direction with the use of an Arduino Uno R3

General Info:
I am a visual artist - I do light show projections on bands while they play and provide a creative, dynamic form of ambience in other situations. I am looking to automate with control, the rotation of a clear lazy-susan which I use with a Canon RE-350 (document camera much like an overhead projector - http://www.usa.canon.com/app/pdf/projector/re350_manual.pdf) illuminating objects on the lazy-susan turntable from above and below. The image is sent to my computer where I manipulate it with various software effects, mix it with other visual content, and send it all out to a projector to display the mixed content.

I have just recently got an Arduino Uno from Sainsmart and have motor shield on order. I also have a decent digital multimeter and soldering iron, all which I am just learning to use - via tutorials and experimenting.

Other various info regarding the project:
Input via MacBook and/or iPhone and possibly MIDI