Aquaponics automation

Hi and thanks for taking the time to read my post. I've been scratching my head a while now, pouring through articles and testing different stuff. I've got a fairly mature aquaponics setup in my greenhouse, 1000 litre fish tank with some carp and then 2 grow beds, one high level that fills and empties using a pump on a timer with a syphon and the low level that I was using a pump with a timer to fill and a sump pump with float switch. I had lots of issues last year with pumps jamming and tanks emptying including the fish tank. I have some experience with software engineering, work in IT for a living and have started training in electrical. I've been 'playing' with the Arduino and starter kits and have come across them as part of the day job so wanted to do something smart. Prior to starting with Arduino I purchased a GZF-12 water level sensor board, very simple high/low sensor with relay to turn on either a fill pump or empty pump. This would do half the job for what I need but I need to fill and empty the lower grow bed on a schedule and also stop if there is a problem. For future improvements I would also like to build in some additional sensors for temp, humidity, light and perform various actions depending on values.