Arduin Uno -Robot Arm

Hi, before I begin, I would like to mention that I am a beginner in the field of electronics. I am currently wanting to have my next project be a simple robotic arm run on servos. As the “brain” I have an Arduino Uno. I would love to jump fully into the project except I have no idea for what I need. Heres what I had in mind for the finished product.

1. Run by 5 servos (one for base rotation, three for arm hinges, one for claw. (Tower Pro - Micro . Servo 9g - SG90)
  2. Run by Arduino Uno
  3. Each servo connected to potentiomitor for individual control.

The place where I am stuck is what I would need to get it all to work. I have no idea if I would need a motor/servo shield of any kind or what kind of power supply. If anyone could help point me in the right direction for what I need that would be extremely helpful! Thanks! :grin:

Dead simple. The mechanical aspects of getting the servos to move the thing will be more difficult than the electronics: levers, gears, angles, mass, moments all that stuff.

You’ve got 6 analog pins on an Uno so there’s your limit on pots. Then 6 digital pins to control the servos, but you could have more servos if you control them other than with pots.

Power supply is easy to calc: forum wisdom is to budget 1A per servo, or at least per servo that may move at once. Seeing as you have two arms, you would need two friends to help you get all 6 to move at once.

Secret is to keep clear in your mind, that the Arduino never powers a servo, it merely controls them. So hook the power up to 6 as shown below for 3 servos… Connect the grounds as shown.

servo power.png

Take a look at this example:

// Controlling a servo position using a potentiometer (variable resistor) 
// by Michal Rinott <http://people.interaction-ivrea.it/m.rinott> 

#include <Servo.h> 

Servo myservo;  // create servo object to control a servo 

int potpin = 0;  // analog pin used to connect the potentiometer