Arduino 1.0 issues

Greetings. I have been using Arduino for a few years now as a quick prototyping tool and LOVE it. I just recently upgraded from the 0022 to the 1.0 IDE because I just ordered a ProMicro board from sparkfun and need leonardo support. I was very interested to try the USB keyboard implementation that sparkfun has posted (http://www.sparkfun.com/tutorials/337) which utilized the Keyboard functions available in the new IDE. I have been working on some code in my 0022 IDE version and it works as expected with an infrared library that I downloaded (written for arduino). My goal was to use the IR code i developed in conjunction with the new keyboard functions available in IDE 1.0.
IE. Read IR code from remote control → send keyboard keystrokes to computer.

Here’s the problems. My code and the library worked perfectly in IDE version 0022 and i figured that i could simply load it in IDE version 1.0 (moving the IR library to the new library directory as well of course) and all would remain fine, then add the keyboard functionality I was after. I was wrong! I got all kinds of compile errors with the 0022 code… most of which are completely confusing to me as they are arduino functions!. Here are a few.

1. C:\arduino-1.0\libraries\IRremote\IRremote.cpp:268: error: ‘digitalRead’ was not declared in this scope
  2. C:\arduino-1.0\libraries\IRremote\IRremote.cpp:254: error: ‘pinMode’ was not declared in this scope
  3. C:\arduino-1.0\libraries\IRremote\IRremote.cpp:254: error: ‘OUTPUT’ was not declared in this scope
  4. C:\arduino-1.0\libraries\IRremote\IRremote.cpp:201: error: ‘digitalWrite’ was not declared in this scope
  5. C:\arduino-1.0\libraries\IRremote\IRremote.cpp:261: error: ‘B00111001’ was not declared in this scope ← was solved by changing to 0x39…but why doenst it understand binary notation out of the box anymore?