Arduino 101 driver not found

Hi I am completely new to arduino and I just got the 101. I have downloaded the IDE but it does not recognize the board when I plug it in. I went to the device manager already and tried to update the driver software but when i browse my computer for the driver file and click next it still says unable to install.

Is there a fix for this?? I am on windows 7 and can't seem to find any solutions that work.

I had same problem with WIN XP SP3. Anyone knows? What Intel can support this?

Hi all,
It seems I am not alone in having troubles in making the 101 work. I am trying to connect the 101 with my Windows10 laptop after loading the Intel Curie libraries via Boardmanager. The Arduino/Genuino 101 board is recognised and part of the boards-list when I run the 1.6.8 IDE.

Running the LED-blink sketch resulted in an error message because COM port 4 was used.
Now I run in trouble because the COM port is grayed out in the 1.6.8 IDE, and also Windows10 is not helpful in listing the COM ports.

Any help is appreciated,

John

Edited later. Luckily the troubles I had with the 101 can be explained by the laptop I tried it on. On a desktop there is no issue at all. Sorry for any confusion.
John

Hi. I would make sure you have the latest Arduino 101 package (1.0.5) installed from Board Manager.

The driver files are in %localappdata%\Arduino15\packages\Intel\tools\arduino101load\1.6.4+1.18\drivers

Does Windows Device Manager show the board port?

• Ports (COM & LPT)

• Arduino 101 Serial Monitor (COMxx)

Brian

Hi, Brian,
In my case, I did install the core (tried 1.05 and 1.04), and there does exist a com port under device manager named Arduino 101 USB Composite Device (Com3), but

1. there are two Arduino 101 devices unrecognized shown in the device manager and marked yellow, I cannot find a driver for them on the installed Arduino program folders (neither by searching from internet)