Arduino 328P - problem with sending sketch from IDE

Hi!

I'm new with Arduino stuff, and I have a problem trying to send a sketch from Arduino software to my 328P processor.

Here are some details:

-I bought a DIY kit from Spikenzie Labs, link: https://www.spikenzielabs.com/Catalog/drum-kits/drum-kit-kit-ai

-I did the soldering and got the system working with my MIDI in on my soundcard connected to my PC.

-I did not buy FTDI-USB cable with the DIY kit, so I ordered one from another store, link: https://www.vapaakauppa.net/ftdi-kaapeli-usb-uart-rs232-5v.html

-When I received the cable and started to connecting it, I realised that the colors on my cable were different then the colors in the "original" FTDI cable that was in my kit's manual.

-I have tried all the combinations, except the +5v and ground I have not changed, cause I got advice that it might destroy the arduino.

-The Arduino software finds the COM-port, and starts the send sketch, but after some time the software says there was error, programmer not respondnig.

Could you guys give any advice how to proceed?

Thanks a lot!

-Mauno

How are you connecting to your 328 processor - is this on an Arduino or something else ? If something else : You need to wire the DTR line to a capacitor on the processor reset pin ( plus a pull up resistor) so the processor is in reset state just as the data is sent . Your processor also needs to have a boot loader installed too.

hammy: How are you connecting to your 328 processor - is this on an Arduino or something else ? If something else : You need to wire the DTR line to a capacitor on the processor reset pin ( plus a pull up resistor) so the processor is in reset state just as the data is sent . Your processor also needs to have a boot loader installed too.

Thanks for the reply!

The system is working with the default values, so all the drum hits have the maximum velocity cause the default sketch has the velocity sens set to off.