Arduino Advice - Stepper Motors

Hello all,

I am an absolute newbie when it comes to arduino/coding, so need some advice on a project.

I'm working on a clock design that will have various mechanisms to show time, date, month etc.

There will need to be 7x stepper motors, driven by an Arduino board. Each motor drives a specific element to show the correct information (i.e. 1 motor will be used to show MONTH etc.).

All motors can then be controlled by the board to rotate a given amount, at a specific time - i.e. every minute, a motor will be turned by 1/60th of a rotation.

In order to set the current date/time, there would need to be an interface on PC to allow the user to move each element forwards or backwards to adjust - or better yet, grab the current date/time from the computer.

What kind of setup would I need to achieve this?

If possible, would there be any way to add bluetooth connectivity, to allow the user to adjust the date/time with an app?

In future, we plan on scaling this design down, to the size of a wristwatch (using tiny stepper motors, control board (maybe nano?) and battery, with micro USB charge). Not sure what options there are for this, but open to any advice.

As I said, I am a total newbie to this environment, but I am an engineer, with light electronics knowledge. So any help on this is appreciated.

Ben

Stepper motors are very inefficient as they need full power all of the time to hold position even when stationary. You can de-power a motor but there is a risk that when it is next powered it will move to the next or the previous step position rather than the step at which it stopped. I have no idea how great is that risk but those errors could accumulate over time for a long running project.

Also, stepper motors have no sense of their absolute position. The normal process is to run the motor towards a limit switch at startup to establish the HOME or ZERO position.