arduino alarm system

hello. i would like to have some help with a project i'm doing. basically doing a alarm system using arduino and a ping sensor the hc-sr04 .i would like to ask how do i save the distance received from the loop to a variable so that i can establish the distance from my sensor and the wall then from that distance save i will base if there is a certain change in it and triggers the alarm. thank you.

What have you done so far ? Can we assume that you know how to set a variable to a value ?

i'm really new to arduino and the program is copied from someone. i do understand how it works but i don't know how to implement my idea.i'm gonna post the code.

#include <NewPing.h>
#include <NewTone.h>

// Select which PWM-capable pins are to be used.
#define RED_PIN 10
#define GREEN_PIN 11
#define BLUE_PIN 9

#define TRIGGER_PIN 6 // Arduino pin tied to trigger pin on the ultrasonic sensor.
#define ECHO_PIN 7 // Arduino pin tied to echo pin on the ultrasonic sensor.
#define MAX_DISTANCE 200 // Maximum distance we want to ping for (in centimeters).

NewPing sonar(TRIGGER_PIN, ECHO_PIN, MAX_DISTANCE); // NewPing setup of pins and maximum distance.
boolean triggered = false;

#define ALARM 3
float sinVal;
int toneVal;

void setup(){

//set pinModes for RGB strip
pinMode(RED_PIN,OUTPUT);
pinMode(BLUE_PIN,OUTPUT);
pinMode(GREEN_PIN,OUTPUT);

pinMode(ALARM, OUTPUT);

//reset lights
analogWrite(RED_PIN,0);
analogWrite(BLUE_PIN,0);
analogWrite(RED_PIN,0);

delay(5000);
Serial.begin(115200); // Open serial monitor at 115200 baud to see ping results.

}

void loop(){
if(triggered == true){
alarm();
}
else{
delay(50);// Wait 50ms between pings (about 20 pings/sec). 29ms should be the shortest delay between pings.
unsigned int uS = sonar.ping(); // Send ping, get ping time in microseconds (uS).
unsigned int distance = uS / US_ROUNDTRIP_CM;
Serial.println(distance);
if(distance < 50){
triggered = true;
}
}
}

void alarm(){
color(255,0,0); //red
delay(100);