Arduino and C# Delay Time

Good day,

I am working in Arduino Mega 2560, motor and encoder, C# to interface the arduino and LED power supply that connected to PC with RS232. That's why I use 2 serial ports in this project, 1 for Arduino and 1 for LED power supply.

This is the sequence that I wish I can do in my project:

1. C# send code to Arduino
  2. Arduino receive the code, activate the motor, encoder record the position
  3. When encoder reach my desired position, it send signal back to C#
  4. C# send code to LED power supply

For now, I am still learning and unable to conduct sequence 3 and 4. The problem is even the encoder haven't reached my desired position, C# already send code to the LED power supply.

What code should I use to make C# wait till encoder reach my desired position? I hope someone can help me. Thank you.

rudigunawan:
For now, I am still learning and unable to conduct sequence 3 and 4. The problem is even the encoder haven't reached my desired position, C# already send code to the LED power supply.

Sounds like a C# coding issue, not an Arduino problem. That is, unless the Arduino is prematurely sending the message to the PC that the encoder is in position, but you didn't mention that.

Thank you for your reply,

I think I still don't know how to send the message to PC when encoder is in position. How can I do that? Should I use Serial.write? And maybe if you can help me with the C# reading too, how to make C# wait? Thank you

rudigunawan:
Thank you for your reply,

I think I still don't know how to send the message to PC when encoder is in position. How can I do that? Should I use Serial.write? And maybe if you can help me with the C# reading too, how to make C# wait? Thank you

Post your Arduino code and we can work it out. In the mean time, you should do some C# research and maybe post in a C# forum.

You have a problem in either
the arduino app
the C# app
both