Arduino and conceptual art anyone?

Hi Arduino,
I am an artist based in London (here are a few projects www.nickferguson.co.uk). I have a concept for a new piece of work and am looking for suggestions as to how to make it work. Could arduino plus a few bells and whistles do the trick? Here is the gist.

Two mains voltage lights (L1 and L2) and two mains voltage switches, S1 and S2, are installed on a circuit. Switch 1 and L1 are located remotely from Switch 2 and L2 and connect via the Ethernet.

Functionality is as follows:
Switch 1: Position ‘on’ turns on Light 1 but simultaneously turns off Light 2. Position ‘off’ turns off Light 2 but turns on Light 2.

b. Switch 2: Position ‘on’ turns on Light 2 but simultaneously turns off Light 1. Position ‘off’ turns off Light 2 but turns on Light 1.

So, though there are two users in two different locations (could be two different countries) only one of them could have the light on at any one time. That is it.

There seem to be some off-the-shelf products available for remote power switching but these all require either a keyboard or a mobile phone to activate the remote switches. I need the switches that users press to be normal architectural fittings rather than computer keyboards or mobile phone keypads.

Any suggestions? Thanks
Nick
:wink:

Hi Nick, what do you want to happen when switch 1 and switch 2 are both in the ‘on’ or ‘off’ position?

Do you want to toggle the light state when the switch is thrown, much like the way a normal two way light switch works where either up or down can be on or off depending on the state of the other switch?

Also, there will be some delay for messages to get from one site to the other, do you have a view on what you would like to happen if a user on one site flips the switch quickly on and off before a message arrives and is processed on the other site?