Arduino and current sensors to pilot pneumatic blast gates and dust extraction

Hello everyone

I’m an amateur woodworker currently playing way out of his league with electronics, pneumatics and programming.
I’m reaching out to the Arduino community for support and - if someone has the time, courage and patience - guidance in my project. Please pardon my english, I’m belgian and french is my native language, so I’ll do my best but I’d rather spend hours on arduino tutorials than on improving my English :wink:

My idea coming here is not to get a “ready to copy-paste” code and a full wiring schematic, but to get to:

• Find the best way to connect the hardware
  • Structure my code so that it’s not a tangled mess of instructions at the end of the process. Since I never programmed anything, I’ll be the tough part…
  • Help me understand why it’s better to do it this way rather than that way.

Long story short:
I’m building an automatic dust extraction system based on the following:

• A 2,2KW ventilation unit sucking dust from the machines producing it through metal tubing
  • Blast gates pushed or pulled by Pneumatic cylinders in order to orient the flow from the right machine
  • Pneumatic cylinders triggered by Solenoid valves
  • Solenoid valves triggered by an arduino mega, which receives its input from current sensors, push button or proximity sensor.

I’d like to be able to make the system evolve in the future, maybe add blast gates, machines,… so I need to really understand what I’m doing.

I did quite a lot of research before to dare coming to this forum, and here’s the result of this research.

1. Dust sources

• 1 Planer-thicknesser
  • 1 Router (same machine as the saw - different motor and dust extraction setting)
  • 1 Saw (Same machine as the Router - different motor and dust extraction setting)
  • 1 Band Saw
  • 1 Lathe
  • 1 Radial Arm Saw
  • 1 floor extraction (aka “broom output swallower”)