Arduino and Mango

Hi All,

I’m looking for some help using Mango with my Leonardo Arduino. I’ve looked through the various posts on the Mango site on the subject but so far I’ve been unable to find a definative Modbus library and some sample code that will work for testing. I’ve downloaded the latest modbus_rtu_slave.pde and ModbusSlave.tar.gz from JPMzometa’s website but have been unable to get the sketch to compile and work with the library. I’ve also tried following a post off Mango’s site that had some sample code and links to the latest library but that also failed to compile. Can anyone please point me at the definative Modbus library version and a compatible sample sketch that I can use to engineer my project? I’m programming with Arduino version 1.0.5-r2.

I’m fairly new to Arduino, I’m just getting into it as a hobby but I’m an industrial automation engineer so I’m familiar with automation, PLC, SCADA concepts.

Any help or pointers would be truly appreciated.

Many thanks,

Lee

Hello Lee,

The JPMzometa's Library was written for Arduino version below 1.0.1. There are some incompatibilities when performing some Serial commands. Indeed I had been using it for a long time and I had a good experience with it. Some months ago I started to move it to something more definitive and here you can find its basis:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/53529271/libmodbus_slave_example-140325b.zip

Its main purpose is to implement either a Modbus Master or a Modbus Slave in the same library. It works as most industrial PLCs do. This link points to an Slave. You have only to refresh the Modbus poll instance and to point to the right variables, as you may do in a PLC.

Best Regads,

SUBY

Hi Suby,

Thanks for the reply, it's much appreciated!

I've unzipped your example, although winACE reported problems unzipping the files... Any chance of a fresh zip file?

Can you please give me an explanation of what you have sent and what I need to do with the .ino files.