Arduino and Mikroe pressure sensor integration

Hi everyone!

I'm trying to build a mini PSG (polysomnogram / sleep study device) using an Arduino and various sensors including a pressure transducer for airflow measurement.

I recently acquired this sensor Ultra-Low Press Click | Mikroe. It is designed to work with Mikroe dev boards out of the box but should also work with Arduino since it's an I2C sensor. A basic API is here mikrosdk_click_v2/clicks/ultralowpress at master · MikroElektronika/mikrosdk_click_v2 · GitHub.

I'm new to I2C sensors, especially those without a native Arduino library. Would anyone have some guiding words of wisdom?

Thanks in advance,
mutton

Which Arduino do you have? Your click board will operate from 5V or 3V3. If you have an UNO, then select 5V. A quick look at an image of your click board suggests that you need to solder a link to select 5V or 3V3 power.

Connect supply and GND to your click board as well as SCL and SDA. The LED should light on the click board. Then run an I2C scanner sketch to see if the device is detected.

The library you linked to should provide enough information for you to read the sensor directly in your sketch without any additional library. The SM8436 datasheet should fill in any blanks.

Thanks for the reply.

I have an Arduino Mega, so I guess I can use either the 3V3 or 5V? If so, is there a generally preferable voltage?

Also would you be able to elaborate on from where to where I need to solder the link?

Ok, I figured the voltage selector was set to 3V3 so I connected it up and ran the scanner sketch and it worked! Thanks!
I hope connecting the sensor up via 5V yesterday didn't damage it...

Will try to make the rest of the I2C code work now.