Arduino and time detection (ms scale)

Hello,

I'm new to Arduino, and for a project I have, I'm not sure the Arduino platform is a good choice.

My goal is to make a measurement of the time elapsed between two events. the precision needs to be at least 1 millisecond or so. The maximum time needed to be measured would be around 1 second, roughly. Also, the user could let know Arduino when the measurement is to be done (if necessary to prevent Arduino to constantly look for the event), the time for looking for the event could then be around 10sec, 1mn, or simply while the user press a button.

The events are taken from physical world via transducers, whose signals are then conditionned to be used on 2 analog inputs of an Arduino.

then Arduino would check if thoses analog inputs are going above a certain threshold. If yes, the millis() or micros() method would be used to catch the time of the events. A simple substraction between the time of event 1 and 2 would then give the time elapsed between the two events. Number that could be displayed then.

My concern is the following:

How much often Arduino do look to it's analog input for sure? If it's not often enough, I could either miss an event, or capture it with an error of measure too big.

Supposing the measurement takes place when the user press a button (so when a digital pin input is 1), I would have a loop like that (pseudocode and very simplified, not taking into account for instance which event happens first, variables declarations, etc...)

While(userWantsMeasurement) {
   if (analogPin1 > threshold1) {
       time1 = micros();
   }
   if (analogPin2 > threshold2) {
       time2 = micros();
       display(time2 - time1);
   }
}

How much often the analog pins value will be checked? sufficiently enough for my application? Is it "hardwired", or does it depends on the code placed in the while loop?

Thanks a lot.