Arduino and XBee, HELP!

I've been playing with my Arduino for a while now, learned plenty as I go along. I have a simple little temperature logging device that works well, but I'd like to locate in a remote spot outside without an easy way of directly wiring to my PC to read the data. I immediately thought that a simple serial interface using XBee wireless chips was what I needed. I have no experience of using such things, but I took a guess and bought some bits.

I bought the following 2 x XBee 2mW Module with Chip Antenna (Series ZB) http://www.coolcomponents.co.uk/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=25_64&products_id=364 1 x XBee Explorer USB http://www.coolcomponents.co.uk/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=25_64&products_id=243 1 x XBee Shield http://www.coolcomponents.co.uk/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=50_76&products_id=116

From what I understood I'd just be able to plug the shield and XBee into the Arduino, and the Explorer USB and XBee into my PC, and then it'd work virtually the same as using the wired USB link, with virtually no changes.

But it doesn't work, not even close.

So, first question, was my basic assumption above wrong?

In an attempt to trouble shoot I uploaded the following very basic sketch:

void setup()
{
  pinMode(13,OUTPUT);
  // Wake up signal, so we know when the Arduino has finished booting
  digitalWrite(13,HIGH);
  delay(1000);
  digitalWrite(13,LOW);
  delay(500);
  digitalWrite(13,HIGH);
  delay(1000);
  digitalWrite(13,LOW);
  delay(500);
  digitalWrite(13,HIGH);
  delay(1000);
  digitalWrite(13,LOW);
  delay(500);

Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop()
{
  if(Serial.available() > 0)
  {
    digitalWrite(13,HIGH);
    delay(2000);
    digitalWrite(13,LOW);
    delay(1000);
    digitalWrite(13,HIGH);
    delay(2000);
    digitalWrite(13,LOW);
    Serial.flush();
  }
delay(100);
}