Arduino and XBee shield...

Hello, I am very new to Arduino but my main goal is to get the board working with the XBee shield.
I currently have:
1 Arduino Diecimila board
1 NKC hardware Diecimila compatible board
2 XBee shields with XBee modules.

I know everything works as I've managed to upgrade the firmware and everything on the XBee modules, but for the life of me and I can't get either the tutorial here: Arduino Playground - Xbee013 or here: http://itp.nyu.edu/~raf275/meshnetworking/XBee/XBee_program_Arduino_wireless.html to work.

For the first tutorial I just don't get anything in the serial output box.

For the second tutorial, if I upload the example sketch from the itp site without the XBee shield the LED at pin 13 blinks as it should. Once I plug the XBee shield in though it doesn't blink anymore. I'm not sure if this is expected, but I also can't load a sketch to the chip while the shield is plugged in. I've tried this on both boards with each shield and get the same results.

I believe I have the jumpers set correctly as well. The "remote" board has both jumpers set on the "xbee" side while the board attached to my computer has it's jumpers set to the "usb" side and the chip removed. The remote board is being powered by a 9v plug and the one attached to my computer is being powered by usb.
Is there something simple I'm missing?

TIA

hi

you have to configure the Xbee modules using a serial program-- see that part of the tutorial. it's a bit tricky, as in hit and miss, but if you just proceed slowly and follow the config instructions it works fine.

D

Thank you for the quick response.
Sorry I left that out. I actually have done those steps already. Even when I type "ATND" via the serial console I can see the other XBee module so I'm assuming they are connected. Is their another way to verify they are actually connected?

Thanks.